Faculty

Department Research Interests

Murat Acar


murat.acar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Understanding how gene networks are rewired while cells evolve in controlled laboratory environments using experimental, theoretical and computational approaches

David Baddeley


david.baddeley@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Cell Biology Chemical Biology; Development; Neurobiology; Regenerative Biology /Stem Cells

Shirin Bahmanyar


shirin.bahmanyar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Nuclear dynamics during cell division and organismal development, mechanisms that divide organelle structure, defining functions of inner nuclear membrane proteins in the organization of single cells and complex tissues.

Sean Barrett


sean.barrett@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Physics Experimental condensed matter physics; NMR method development

Julien Berro


julien.berro@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Actin and cytoskeleton; clatherin mediated endocytosis; mathematical modeling combined with experiment; imaging

Joerg Bewersdorf


joerg.bewersdorf@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Cell Biology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering Super resolution imaging; nanoscopy

Marcus Bosenberg


marcus.bosenberg@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Dermatology; Professor of Pathology Melanoma biology; soft tissue tumors

Stuart Campbell


stuart.campbell@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Cellular and Molecular Physiology Understanding mechanisms that underlie genetics forms of heart disease using computational and experimental tools and approaches.

Hui Cao


hui.cao@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Physics Biophotonics; Nanophotonics; Complex optical materials and phenomena

John Carlson


john.carlson@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Chemosensory preception in insects

Damon Clark


damon.clark@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Neuronal computation

Enrique De La Cruz


enrique.delacruz@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry Molecular motors, cytoskeleton, polymer mechanics

Thierry Emonet


thierry.emonet@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Physics Live cell and animal information processing and decision making; combining experiments and computational modeling

Paul Forscher


paul.forscher@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Actin assembly; cytoskeletal protein dynamics; cellular motion; microscopy

Ziad Ganim


ziad.ganim@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Chemistry Developing and applying single molecule spectroscopies with structural resolution.

Mark Gerstein


mark.gerstein@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Informatics; Professor of Computer Science Bioinformatics; biological database design, genomics; human genome annotation; gene expression analysis; data mining; macromolecular structure and function

Scott Holley


scott.holley@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Systems biology and biomechanics of musculoskeletal axis development in zebrafish.

Valerie Horsley


valerie.horsley@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Dermatology; Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Stem cells; wound healing; cellular mechanics

Jonathon Howard


jonathon.howard@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Professor of Physics Biochemical and biophysical basis of cell shape and motion; cytoskeletal mechanics

Jay Humphrey


jay.humphrey@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering Vascular mechanics; mechanobiology; computational modeling and wet lab experiments

Farren Isaacs


farren.isaacs@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Systems biology; genome engineering; complex biological behaviors; engineered RNAs

Christine Jacobs-Wagner


christine.jacobs-wagner@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis Spatial and temporal mechanisms in bacterial physiology, including chromosome dynamics, cell division, cell morphogenesis, and RNA biology

Erdem Karatekin


erdem.karatekin@yale.edu
Website
Cellular and Molecular Physiology Membrane fusion, dynamics of lipid membranes, imaging

Jaehong Kim


jaehong.kim@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Antimicrobial/biocidal surface development and application of nanomaterials for water treatment

Megan King


megan.king@yale.edu
Website
Professor Cell Biology Nuclear mechanics; DNA repair; chromatin, nuclear envelope and cytoskeletal interconnectedness and structure

Yuval Kluger


yuval.kluger@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Pathology Method development and analysis of genomic patters; cancer biomaker discovery; epigenetics

Anthony Koleske


anthony.koleske@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Neurobiology Cellular shape and motility; biochemical dissection of signaling pathways; regulation of normal and cancer cell migration; and formation, function and stability of neural connections

Chun Hay Alex Kwan


alex.kwan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Neurobiology; Professor of Psychiatry Neural basis of attentional and working memory behaviors; neuronal circuits; optical imaging

Andre Levchenko


andre.levchenko@yale.edu
Website
Proffesor of Biomedical Engineering Systems Biology; Signal Transduction and Cell-Cell Communication; Cell Decision Making; Microfluidics and Micro- and Nano-fabrication; Stem Cell Engineering

Nikhil Malvankar


nikhil.malvankar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Understanding how bacteria employ pili nanowires to carry out respiration, cell-to-cell communication and attachment to host surfaces to cause infections

David McCormick


david.mccormick@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Neurobiology; Professor of Psychology Cellular mechanism of cortical function

Kathryn Miller-Jensen


kathryn.miller-jensen@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology HIV latency; signaling pathways; high-throughput single cell analysis; computational, experimental and systems-level approaches

Andrew Miranker


andrew.miranker@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Protein self-assembly; protein folding and dynamics; amyloid

Simon Mochrie


simon.mochrie@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Physics Biomaterials and surfaces; optical tweezers; atomic force microscopy; phase transitions of soft matter

John Murray


john.murray@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Psychiatry Computational neuroscience

Michael Murrell


michael.murrell@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering Cytoskeleton, Motor Proteins, Membranes, Cellular Mechanics

Corey O'Hern


corey.ohern@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science; Professor of Physics Theoretical and computational studies of soft matter; protein folding, aggregation and self-assembly; mechanical properties of cells and tissues

Chinedum Osuji


chinedum.osuji@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Structure and dynamics of soft matter and complex fluids; directed self-assembly; development of functional materials and devices

Thomas Pollard


thomas.pollard@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Cell Biology; Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry Molecular basis of cell motility and cytokenesis

Richard Prum


richard.prum@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Professor of Ornithology Avian feather evolution; structural color; avian color vision; avian phylogenetics and behavioral evolution

Anna Marie Pyle


anna.pyle@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Chemistry RNA remodeling enzymes; RNA tertiary structure; molecular virology; computational studies of RNA structure

Lynne Regan


lynne.regan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Professor of Chemistry Protein engineering and biomaterials; structure, function and stability; and protein-protein and protein-nucleic acid interactions

Alvaro Sanchez


alvaro.sanchez@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Microbial evolution; social strategies within microbial communities; microbial interaction networks and community dynamics; combining mathematical modeling with experiments

Charles Sindelar


charles.sindelar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Molecular motors; cytoskeleton; cryo-electron microscopy

Patrick Sung


patrick.sung@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Professor of Therapeutic Radiology Homologous recombination; DNA souble strand repair in Eukaryotes

Madhusudhan Venkadesan


m.venkadesan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science Biomechanics, biologically inspired design, combining theory and experiment

Elsa Chui-Ying Yan


elsa.yan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Chemistry Biomolecular interactions at interfaces; signal transduction across biomembranes; molecular mechanism of vision

Yongli Zhang


yongli.zhang@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Cell Biology Folding and assembly of proteins involved in membrane fusion; chromatin remodelers and ATP dependent translocases; single-molecule biophysics; optical tweezers

Steven Zucker


steven.zucker@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Computer Science; Professor of Electrical Engineering Computational vision, including early vision, grouping, and generic shape analysis