All

Department Research Interests
Murat Acar's picture

Murat Acar


murat.acar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Understanding how gene networks are rewired while cells evolve in controlled laboratory environments using experimental, theoretical and computational approaches
Shirin Bahmanyar's picture

Shirin Bahmanyar


shirin.bahmanyar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Nuclear dynamics during cell division and organismal development, mechanisms that divide organelle structure, defining functions of inner nuclear membrane proteins in the organization of single cells and complex tissues.
Sean Barrett's picture

Sean Barrett


sean.barrett@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Physics Experimental condensed matter physics; NMR method development
Julien Berro's picture

Julien Berro


julien.berro@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Actin and cytoskeleton; clatherin mediated endocytosis; mathematical modeling combined with experiment; imaging
Joerg Bewersdorf's picture

Joerg Bewersdorf


joerg.bewersdorf@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Cell Biology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering Super resolution imaging; nanoscopy
Marcus Bosenberg's picture

Marcus Bosenberg


marcus.bosenberg@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Dermatology; Professor of Pathology Melanoma biology; soft tissue tumors
Stuart Campbell's picture

Stuart Campbell


stuart.campbell@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Cellular and Molecular Physiology Understanding mechanisms that underlie genetics forms of heart disease using computational and experimental tools and approaches.
Hui Cao's picture

Hui Cao


hui.cao@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Physics Biophotonics; Nanophotonics; Complex optical materials and phenomena
John Carlson's picture

John Carlson


john.carlson@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Chemosensory preception in insects
Damon Clark's picture

Damon Clark


damon.clark@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Neuronal computation
Enrique De La Cruz's picture

Enrique De La Cruz


enrique.delacruz@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry Molecular motors, cytoskeleton, polymer mechanics
Thierry Emonet's picture

Thierry Emonet


thierry.emonet@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Physics Live cell and animal information processing and decision making; combining experiments and computational modeling
Rong Fan's picture

Rong Fan


rong.fan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering Combining single-cell analysis technology and systems biology to study cell-cell communication and cellular heterogeneity in human cancers and the immune system
Paul Forscher's picture

Paul Forscher


paul.forscher@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Actin assembly; cytoskeletal protein dynamics; cellular motion; microscopy
Ziad Ganim's picture

Ziad Ganim


ziad.ganim@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Chemistry Developing and applying single molecule spectroscopies with structural resolution.
Mark Gerstein's picture

Mark Gerstein


mark.gerstein@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Informatics; Professor of Computer Science Bioinformatics; biological database design, genomics; human genome annotation; gene expression analysis; data mining; macromolecular structure and function
Scott Holley's picture

Scott Holley


scott.holley@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Systems biology and biomechanics of musculoskeletal axis development in zebrafish.
Valerie Horsley's picture

Valerie Horsley


valerie.horsley@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Dermatology; Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Stem cells; wound healing; cellular mechanics
Jonathon Howard's picture

Jonathon Howard


jonathon.howard@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Professor of Physics Biochemical and biophysical basis of cell shape and motion; cytoskeletal mechanics
Jay Humphrey's picture

Jay Humphrey


jay.humphrey@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering Vascular mechanics; mechanobiology; computational modeling and wet lab experiments
Farren Isaacs's picture

Farren Isaacs


farren.isaacs@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology Systems biology; genome engineering; complex biological behaviors; engineered RNAs
Christine Jacobs-Wagner's picture

Christine Jacobs-Wagner


christine.jacobs-wagner@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis Spatial and temporal mechanisms in bacterial physiology, including chromosome dynamics, cell division, cell morphogenesis, and RNA biology
Erdem Karatekin's picture

Erdem Karatekin


erdem.karatekin@yale.edu
Website
Cellular and Molecular Physiology Membrane fusion, dynamics of lipid membranes, imaging
Jaehong Kim's picture

Jaehong Kim


jaehong.kim@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Antimicrobial/biocidal surface development and application of nanomaterials for water treatment
Megan King's picture

Megan King


megan.king@yale.edu
Website
Professor Cell Biology Nuclear mechanics; DNA repair; chromatin, nuclear envelope and cytoskeletal interconnectedness and structure
Yuval Kluger's picture

Yuval Kluger


yuval.kluger@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Pathology Method development and analysis of genomic patters; cancer biomaker discovery; epigenetics
Anthony Koleske's picture

Anthony Koleske


anthony.koleske@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Neurobiology Cellular shape and motility; biochemical dissection of signaling pathways; regulation of normal and cancer cell migration; and formation, function and stability of neural connections
Chun Hay Alex Kwan's picture

Chun Hay Alex Kwan


alex.kwan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Neurobiology; Professor of Psychiatry Neural basis of attentional and working memory behaviors; neuronal circuits; optical imaging
Roy Lederman's picture

Roy Lederman


roy.lederman@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Statistics and Data Science Cryo-EM; numerical analysis and signal processing; geometry of data; computational biology algorithms; mathematics of data science
Andre Levchenko's picture

Andre Levchenko


andre.levchenko@yale.edu
Website
Proffesor of Biomedical Engineering Systems Biology; Signal Transduction and Cell-Cell Communication; Cell Decision Making; Microfluidics and Micro- and Nano-fabrication; Stem Cell Engineering
Benjamin Machta's picture

Benjamin Machta


benjamin.machta@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Physics Statistical physics of biological systems; critical points and phase transitions, membrane systems
Michael Mak's picture

Michael Mak


michael.mak@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering Multiscale mechanobiology in cancer and development, from molecular to multicellular levels, integrating microfluidics, wet-lab experiments, and computational approaches.
Nikhil Malvankar's picture

Nikhil Malvankar


nikhil.malvankar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Understanding how bacteria employ pili nanowires to carry out respiration, cell-to-cell communication and attachment to host surfaces to cause infections
David McCormick's picture

David McCormick


david.mccormick@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Neurobiology; Professor of Psychology Cellular mechanism of cortical function
Kathryn Miller-Jensen's picture

Kathryn Miller-Jensen


kathryn.miller-jensen@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology HIV latency; signaling pathways; high-throughput single cell analysis; computational, experimental and systems-level approaches
Andrew Miranker's picture

Andrew Miranker


andrew.miranker@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Protein self-assembly; protein folding and dynamics; amyloid
Simon Mochrie's picture

Simon Mochrie


simon.mochrie@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Physics Biomaterials and surfaces; optical tweezers; atomic force microscopy; phase transitions of soft matter
John Murray's picture

John Murray


john.murray@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Psychiatry Computational neuroscience
Michael Murrell's picture

Michael Murrell


michael.murrell@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Biomedical Engineering Cytoskeleton, Motor Proteins, Membranes, Cellular Mechanics
Corey O'Hern's picture

Corey O'Hern


corey.ohern@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science; Professor of Physics Theoretical and computational studies of soft matter; protein folding, aggregation and self-assembly; mechanical properties of cells and tissues
Thomas Pollard's picture

Thomas Pollard


thomas.pollard@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Cell Biology; Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry Molecular basis of cell motility and cytokenesis
Richard Prum's picture

Richard Prum


richard.prum@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Professor of Ornithology Avian feather evolution; structural color; avian color vision; avian phylogenetics and behavioral evolution
Anna Marie Pyle's picture

Anna Marie Pyle


anna.pyle@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology; Professor of Chemistry RNA remodeling enzymes; RNA tertiary structure; molecular virology; computational studies of RNA structure
Alvaro Sanchez's picture

Alvaro Sanchez


alvaro.sanchez@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Microbial evolution; social strategies within microbial communities; microbial interaction networks and community dynamics; combining mathematical modeling with experiments
Charles Sindelar's picture

Charles Sindelar


charles.sindelar@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry Molecular motors; cytoskeleton; cryo-electron microscopy
Xiaolei Su's picture

Xiaolei Su


xiaolei.su@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Cell Biology Membranes, phase separation, and regulation of immune signaling; single molecule imaging and cell engineering
Patrick Sung's picture

Patrick Sung


patrick.sung@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry; Professor of Therapeutic Radiology Homologous recombination; DNA souble strand repair in Eukaryotes
Madhusudhan Venkadesan's picture

Madhusudhan Venkadesan


m.venkadesan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science Biomechanics, biologically inspired design, combining theory and experiment
Elsa Chui-Ying Yan's picture

Elsa Chui-Ying Yan


elsa.yan@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Chemistry Biomolecular interactions at interfaces; signal transduction across biomembranes; molecular mechanism of vision
Yongli Zhang's picture

Yongli Zhang


yongli.zhang@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Cell Biology Folding and assembly of proteins involved in membrane fusion; chromatin remodelers and ATP dependent translocases; single-molecule biophysics; optical tweezers
Steven Zucker's picture

Steven Zucker


steven.zucker@yale.edu
Website
Professor of Computer Science; Professor of Electrical Engineering Computational vision, including early vision, grouping, and generic shape analysis